Pennsic Largesse Roundup!

For the second Pennsic in a row, I’ve been asked to contribute something to the Pennsic gift basket.  This year’s recipient was Caid.  Conveniently, Knowne World Heraldic and Scribal Symposium was also in Caid!  So, I had a mission in addition to the classes I taught – I had to figure out what Their Majesties Caid would like.

100_4695So, after I got home from KWHSS (and Canada too), I got to work on making a few beads, some veil pins, and a set of fibulae.

I am most proud of the crescent beads, made with opaque and transparent glass in Caid’s blue and white.  This technique works best with an opaque background – make a stringer in the background colour, then while that’s cooling, start the bead base in the opaque colour.  Then, make dots in the transparent/contrasting colour after the bead is the right size.  Let these melt in, then take your now cool stringer and drop dots slightly off-center of the transparent dots.  Let these melt in, and you’re done.

I also made a couple of beads representing each royal.  Her Majesty Bridget received a large amber colour bead with a twistie inside of yellow and purple (her colours).  I also hid a Mickey Mouse head on another bead (more dotwork), as yes, there is a Caidan Royal connection to le Chateau de la Souris.

His Majesty, who is Roman, received a blue and white swirl bead based on several common Iron Age beads, and a leafy-vine in black and red.  This was created by running a pick through the bead in swirly patterns, and I have to say, I’m rather pleased at how this one turned out.

In addition to the beads, I made veil pins out of brass.  It is likely these will be my last brass veil pins, given that brass and glass do not play kindly with one another.

I also made my first set of decorated fibulae.  While I’m not entirely happy with how the beads are attached (it’s more pretty than it is period), I am pleased at how the beads for these fibulae turned out – they’re very consistent.  As I’ve been working with glass for not even a year, I’m very pleased with the consistency of shape and sizes.  I’m working on some bronze pins now, but that’s a post for another time.

While I wasn’t able to attend Pennsic this year, I am glad that something I made was able to go.

About Konstantia Kaloethina

I belong to the Society for Creative Anachronism, and there, I'm known as Konstantia Kaloethina, an Eastern Roman (Byzantinian) woman of the sixth century from Constantinople. I am proteged to Master Gabriel andvaka Kjotvason, and apprenticed to Mistress Bess Darnley. I'm an American of Irish, German, Burgundian, and Norwegian descent. I share Harry Potter's birthdate (July 31st, 1983). I typically score as INTJ (Myers-Briggs), and as a confirmed Five with a Four wing "Iconoclast" (Enneagram) type, with strong scores in Musical, Visual/Spatial, and Intrapersonal on the Multiple Intelligences test.
This entry was posted in beads, brag page, Caid, calontir, fibulae, glass, jewellery, jewelry, lampwork, Roman, SCA, Society for Creative Anachronism, veil pins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

